Department of Surgery

General Surgery News

Dr. Kelly McCoy Assumes VAPHS VP of Surgery Role

Dr. Kelly McCoy


Congratulations to Kelly L. McCoy, MD, FACS, who assumed the role of VP of Surgery at the Department of Veterans Affairs (VA) Pittsburgh Healthcare System (VAPHS) on November 8, 2020.  Dr. McCoy has 16 years of government service and has worked at VAPHS since 2015. Dr. McCoy has 16 years of government service and has worked at VAPHS since 2015. She is also an Associate Professor of Surgery and member of the Endocrine Surgery Division at the University of Pittsburgh.


Thirty-eight Department Surgeons Recognized in Pittsburgh Magazine’s 2020 “Best Doctors” List

Congratulations to Drs. Louis Alarcon, Kelly Austin, Timothy Billiar, Geoff Bond, Sally Carty, Rabih Chaer, Randall Draper, Barbara Gaines, Kevin Garrett, David Geller, George Gittes, Giselle Hamad, Matthew Holtzman, Christopher Hughes, Abhinav Humar, Ronald Johnson, Donald Keenan, Kenneth Lee, Steven Leers, Michel Makaroun, Marcus Malek, George Mazariegos, David Medich, Kevin Mollen, Andrew Peitzman, Joshua Rubin, Harry Sell, Rakesh Sindhi, Michael J.

Department Grand Rounds Perseveres Virtually During COVID-19 Crisis

Caption: Master Surgeon Lecture Presenter Dr. David Bartlett and Department Chair Dr. Timothy Billiar at our first virtual Grand Rounds lecture

During the current era of COVID-19 and social distancing, our Grand Rounds lecture series has adapted by temporarily transitioning to a virtual format. On April 8, 2020, we hosted our first virtual lecture via Microsoft Teams, the Master Surgeon Lecture “Peritoneal Surgery: The Evolution of a New Surgical Subspecialty” presented by David L. Bartlett, MD.


Dr. Juan Puyana Wins Medical Student Research Mentoring Merit Award

Dr. Juan Puyana


Congratulations to  Juan C. Puyana, MD, who was selected to receive the Medical Student Research Mentoring Merit Award from the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine. This prestigious award is initiated by medical student recommendations and is presented to a Longitudinal Research Project mentor of a graduating Pitt medical student in recognition for outstanding mentoring over the course of the project.


Eight Staff Members to Receive 2019 UPMC ACES Award

Congratulations to Justin Barry; James P. Celebrezze Jr., MD, FACS, FASCRS; Rebecca D. Edmonds, MD; Raymond Eid, MD; Raquel M. Forsythe, MD; Jennifer M. Holder-Murray, MD, FACS; Christopher B. Hughes, MD, FACS; and Randle Lopez, who were selected as winners of UPMC’s Award for Commitment and Excellence in Service (ACES) for fiscal year 2019. ACES recipients are recognized for being outstanding UPMC team members who embody the health system’s core values, exhibit excellence in and dedication to their work, and go above and beyond to serve our patients and communities.

Drs. Anita Courcoulas and Matthew Rosengart Named Chairs in Surgery

Drs. Anita Courcoulas and Matthew Rosengart


Congratulations to Anita P. Courcoulas, MD, MPH, FACS, Chief of the Division of Minimally Invasive Bariatric and General Surgery, who was appointed Anthony M. Harrison, MD Chair in Surgery; and Matthew Randall Rosengart, MD, MPH, Vice Chair of Academic Training, who was appointed Watson Family Chair in Surgery. Both appointments in the University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine became effective December 1, 2019.