Department of Surgery

Research News

UC, San Diego FOCUS Program Awards Funding to Dr. Roberto Mota Alvidrez

A new sub-award for research to be conducted by Roberto Mota Alvidrez, MD, has been approved for funding.

Dr. Mota is the principal investigator (PI) on the project, “Role of Cytosolic Phospholipase A2 in vascular wall lipid accumulation in atherosclerosis” which will be funded by the University of California, San Diego Future Faculty of Cardiovascular Sciences (FOCUS) program.

Congratulations to Dr. Mota!


Dr. Thiagarajan Meyyappan Research Team Wins $100,000 Award at the 2022 Pitt Innovation Challenge

Congratulations to the research team of Thiagarajan Meyyappan, MD; Steven Little, PhD; and Matthew Rosengart, MD, MPH who were awarded a $100,000 Pitt Innovation Challenge 2022 Award for their project "Micro-shield: Abdominal Adhesion Prevention". 


Dr. Edith Tzeng Research Team Wins 2022 Pain Challenge Award

Congratulations to the research team of Edith Tzeng, MD (principal investigator); Katherine Reitz, MD MScJoseph Meyer, MDKyle Markel, MD MSc; and Phil Empey, PharmD, PhD, who were awarded a $50,000 Virginia Kaufman Pain Research Challenge Award for their project “Easing the Pain of Peripheral Artery Disease.”

A video featuring the project is posted on YouTube:

Dr. Samer Tohme Awarded AHPBA Research Development Grant

Dr. Samer Tohme


Congratulations to Samer T. Tohme, MD, whose project “The Role of Neutrophil Extracellular Traps in Promoting the Progression of Liver Metastases after Surgical Stress” was awarded the 2022 Americas Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association (AHPBA) Research Development Grant. Dr. Tohme will receive $30,000 in funding and the AHPBA will honor and recognize his winning research at the AHPBA Recognition Award Session of the 2022 International Hepato-Pancreato-Biliary Association World Congress on Friday, April 1. 


Dr. Yeahwa Hong Receives Thoracic Surgery Foundation Resident Research Fellowship Award

Dr. Yeahwa Hong


Congratulations to Yeahwa Hong, MD, who received the 2022 Thoracic Surgery Foundation Resident Research Fellowship Award for his research project, “Development of a Novel Ambulatory Pulmonary Assist System For Long-Term Respiratory Support.”